kalamnan

Archive for August 19th, 2008

It’s a quaint concept restaurant found along Ortigas Avenue near Santolan. Maybe it was the name which pulled me to it. It reminded me of an old favorite when I was in college in Loyola (I miss the moussaka!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ). Maybe it was the need to go somewhere… private.

I’ve been meaning to have dinner with RCP for a few months now. He’s reviewing for the bar exams in September, and has been telling me that he’s quite depressed. Of course he’s worried about the bar exams, but his depression does not stem from the fact that the dreaded exams are looming. It resulted from his indecision resulting to a miserable love life. (Peace chief!! :* ) Is there anything new? :p

We took a cab from Greenhills Shopping Center and headed towards Gilmore. Immediately after Santolan, I saw the black and red sign of Cucina Gayuma. The cab driver dropped us off with just 37.50php on the meter (plus 10php, I rounded it off to 50php).

We were the only guests, as our server Rabz (great server!! very attentive and friendly) informed us that the big group left a few minutes before we came in. Several minutes later, the dad of the owner came in and chatted with us for a bit. My thoughts… The owner’s so lucky to have a dad who’s very proud of her. ๐Ÿ™‚

RCP noticed that not all of the chairs used were the same, and most came in pairs only! I found this cute!! Haha! I’m not sure if theย second floor (there were stairs leading up) is used as well, but the first floor can comfortably sit about 20-25 people. The place had a homey and cozy atmosphere.

I like Bicol food. So it was automatic for me to go for the Laing Cheese Spread! This appetizer was only 80PHP. It came with an abundant serving of pita triangles, and the yummy gooey laing cheese dip ๐Ÿ˜€

The presentation can still be enhanced. The taste!!! I scraped that little cup down to the last cheesy drop. It was like eating the topping off a laing pizza sans the meat. That was how thick the cheese was. I did not know laing can be so great with cheese! And it was gooey!! Love it!! Gooey gooey gooey… :p

Cheesy Crust Baked Fish (230PHP)

The dory was great! Hindi lasog. The dish was not too rich either. The flavors were distinct and could be identified indivudally even as they joyfully fused with each other. What I did not understand though were the potato dumplings that came with the fish. What should these complement? The dumplings did not taste like potatoes. Would it be safe to assume that the dumplings were just made from potatoes and that no potato bits should be expected? What was the orange stuff that came with it? In fairness, the dumplings tasted okay if mixed with the orange stuff. Otherwise, it tasted like dumpling wrapper only. But who am I to complain, really, when we finished almost the whole dish? ๐Ÿ™‚

Beef Balsamic Adobo (280PHP)

You see that huge whitish chunk on the plate? That’s bulalo!!! Bone marrow galore!! Of course, siren’s roared as RCP’s and my blood pressure and cholesterol level raced towards the roof. Hehe.

The dish was so good that even ifย RCP and I were already so full, we struggled to sweep the meat off the plate. Talk about gluttony!! Hahaha! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d like to go back to that place. I wanna try the desserts. It was such a shame that RCP and I did not have room for the leche flan or the panna cota anymore. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But then that’s also another reason why I should go back. Maybe with L. ๐Ÿ™‚

By the way!! Because we really were so full and we are really crazy people, RCP and I walked all the way back to Greenhills Shopping Center!! Surprise!! It only took us around 15 minutes at the most!! ๐Ÿ˜‰


Baul

August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31